Well, two weeks down. Six more to go. Weigh-in day tomorrow morning. I'm hoping for at least 6 lbs. lost this week. We'll have to see.
Nothing really exciting to report today. Made the kids a pepperoni pizza for dinner tonight and was able to resist stealing a slice. That was my big willpower moment of the day.
I've been thinking about what I'm going to do after this fast is over. What I mean is, what kind of "diet" am I going to put myself on? I've been reading a lot lately. Just so you know, I generally take everything I read with a grain of salt. These days, every so-called "expert" believes they have the secret to a healthful lifestyle. Some say to stay away from all cereals and grains. Some say that animal protein, including dairy and eggs, is proven to cause cancer. Others tell you that your blood type determines what foods you should and should not eat. Atkins. South Beach. Caveman. Vegan. Then there's the FDA and whatever gimmicky plan they're currently pushing on the American public. It doesn't help that, for every supposedly healthful eating lifestyle, there are physicians, scientists, nutritionists, etc. backing it up with research. I want to keep my weight down but I also want to enjoy eating. I want to make sure I'm getting a full spectrum of micronutrients, vitamins and enzymes in my diet, but I also want to occasionally eat like a pig. I want my gout to go away for good, but I also don't want to have to give up certain foods I love, like beer and shrimp. I want to eat lots of fish, but I don't have a ton of money. I'll continue doing my research. It's a simple enough concept, "eating right," but practicing it is an entirely different matter.
Damn those people who eat like pigs and never gain a pound.
No comments:
Post a Comment